Philando and Genesis 18

17 06 2017

This week’s lectionary readings are Genesis eighteen, verses one through fifteen followed by Psalm one hundred sixteen verses one through two then verses twelve through nineteen:


A Police Officer appeared to Philando near the great trees of Mamre while he was sitting in his car in the heat of the day. Philando looked up and saw another cop nearby. When he saw them, he knew he needed to meet their expectations, so he kept his eyes to the ground.

He said, “If I have found favor in your eyes, Officer, please pass your citizen by. I have done nothing wrong, but I will nonetheless provide you documents and announce my owning a gun. I will comply with your requests, so you can be refreshed and go on your way, now that you have pulled me over because of my wide nose.”

“Very well,” they answered, “do as you say.”

“So Philando said to Diamond, “Slowly,” he said, “be sure to film whatever happens.”

Then he reached for his valid, requested identification to give it to the Officer, who saw this as dangerous. He then felt multiple bullets pass through his left arm and side. While they panicked, he died near them still buckled in.

“FUCK! WHY DID HE REACH FOR IT?” they asked him.

“His ID was there, in the pocket,” she said.

Then one of them said, “I will surely pay for my crimes, and Diamond, your daughter will see justice done.”

Now Diamond was listening while seated in the car, which was beside him. Philando and Diamond were young and full of life, and Diamond was already mother to a beautiful four-year-old daughter. So Diamond laughed to herself, “After all of the injustice and anti-Blackness of this country, will I now have justice?”

Then the Officer said, “Why did you laugh and say, ‘Will you really see justice, after all that has been done?” I just shot your boyfriend, is anything too hard for me? We will meet again in the court of law at the appointed time next year, and you will have justice.”

Diamond was afraid, so she lied and said, “I did not laugh.”

But he said, “Yes, you did laugh.”





I love the Lord, for You heard my voice;
    You heard my cry for mercy.
Because You turned your ear to me,
    I will call on God as long as I live.
The cords of death entangled me,
    the anguish of the grave came over me;
    I was overcome by distress and sorrow.

Then I called on the name of the Lord:
    “Lord, save me!”
What shall I return to the Lord
    for all your goodness to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation
    and call on the name of the Lord.

I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all your people.
Precious in the sight of the Lord
    is the death of your faithful servants.
Truly I am your servant, Lord;
    I serve you just as my mother did;
    you have freed me from my chains.

I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
    and call on the name of the Lord.
I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people,
in the courts of the house of the Lord—
    in your midst, Jerusalem.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

